Check out my new site: FreeDaBeat.com!

Connecting an additional synth to the MiDi Out socket

Ask questions and tell others how you work with the Roland Gaia. Share your discoveries and ideas.

Connecting an additional synth to the MiDi Out socket

Postby calande » Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:57 am

Hello,

My Gaia is connected through USB to Cubase, and I connected my Novation Super BassStation (SBS) synth to the MiDi Out socket of my Gaia. When I try to send notes from Cubase to my SBS (channel 2), I hear a piano instead of the bass. My Gaia is set to only play the notes it receives from Cubase. I think my Gaia grabs the notes on channel 2 and plays the General Midi instrument it has on channel 2. How not to play this instrument and to forward the notes to channel 2 on the MiDi Out socket instead? Thanks! ;)
calande
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:23 pm

Re: Connecting an additional synth to the MiDi Out socket

Postby rodan » Tue Jul 31, 2012 4:17 pm

There is a firmware update on the Roland support site that allows you to turn off the general midi instruments. I'm not 100% sure if this will allow you to use the different midi channels correctly. I remember I had issues getting this to work correctly. Let us know if it does help though as I would like to follow this same approach with some of my synths.
rodan
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 9:02 pm

Re: Connecting an additional synth to the MiDi Out socket

Postby calande » Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:52 pm

Thanks. I'm now using a dedicated MIDI channel for the Gaia 8-)
calande
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:23 pm


Return to Technical Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron